【Sharing】An Easy method to develop GUI Desktop Software for ALL OS!

As a software engineer, I often have to deal with customers who use different OS platforms. Often the customer’s needs can be completed with a few simple command on the terminal. However, the customer is not an engineer and feels big about any interface that requires the use of “black frames”. To solve this problem, it is necessary to develop the desktop GUI (Graphical User Interface) software, which makes simple things very complicated, but is there a way to easily develop desktop GUI software?

YES ! Next, I will demo a method I learned recently.

Software tool list

-Python3
-pyinstaller

1. Use Python’s Tkinter to develop GUI software

Python comes with Tkinter modules to easily develop GUI desktop software. With Python’s simple and easy-to-read features and rich online tutorials, it may only take one or two hundred lines of code to develop a useful GUI desktop software. Compared to Qt, which has to install many tools at every turn, using Python’s Tkinter is really convenient.

To learn more about how to use Tkinter, please check here

Here we take this serial monitors as an example to see what code size is required for a self-made GUI serial monitor written in Python, here are the source code,

The two Python files add up to only 270 line code, which is quite small. If you are interested , you can clone the source code from this github and execute it with Python (you need to install the pyserial module with pip), and here is what you get,

Now it comes the problem. Although you can run this program on your laptop, it is because you have installed the Python development environment and the necessary Python modules, but it is very likely that, on the customer’s computer, there is no Python, let alone these necessary modules, what should we do? Don’t worry, I will introduce you to a super easy-to-use tool pyinstaller

2. Use pyinstaller to publish desktop software on all platforms